• Главная Последние альбомы • Обратная связь • Новости•    Отчёты•    Рецензии• Ambient•    New Age• Blues• Alternative•    Emo•    Grunge•    Nu-Metal• Chanson• Classical• Core•    Deathcore•    Grindcore•    Hardcore•    Mathcore / Jazzcore•    Metalcore•    Post-Hardcore•    Rapcore•    Screamo / Emoviolence• Electronic•    Chillout / Lounge•    Digital Hardcore•    Drum & Bass / Dubstep•    IDM•    House / Techno•    Trance•    Trip-Hop• Folk•    Alt-Country / Americana•    Country•    Darkfolk / Neofolk•    Ethnic / World• Funk• Gothic Rock•    Deathrock / Post-Punk•    Ethereal / Neoclassics•    Synth-Goth / Darkwave• Indie•    Dreampop / Shoegaze•    New Wave / Coldwave•    Synthwave•    Witch House• Industrial•    EBM / Dark Electro• Jazz•    Avantgarde / Free Jazz•    Bop / Modern Jazz•    Fusion•    Swing• Metal•    Black Metal•    Death Metal•    Doom Metal / Funeral•    Electro-Metal / NDH •    Folk Metal•    Gothic Metal•    Groove Metal•    Heavy Metal•    Melodic Death Metal•    Modern Metal•    Pagan Metal•    Power Metal•    Progressive Metal•    Symphonic Metal•    Thrash Metal• Pop•    Disco•    Eurodance•    R'n'B•    Salsa•    Soul• Post Rock/Metal• Punk Rock•    Folk / Celtic Punk•    Pop Punk / Power Pop•    Psychobilly / Horror Punk•    Street / Hardcore Punk•    Ska• Rap / Hip-Hop• Reggae•    Reggae отечественное• Rock•    Classic Rock•    Folk-Rock•    Hard Rock•    Rock'n'Roll•    Русский рок• Stoner Rock/Metal• Synthpop / Futurepop•    Electropop / Electroclash• Various Artists•    Soundtrack•    Tribute• Video

Irma Thomas - A Woman's Viewpoint: The Essential 1970s Recordings (2006) HQ

nfyz5 | R'n'B / Soul | Просмотров: 408 | Комментарии: 0 | 16 мая 2013
Irma Thomas - A Woman's Viewpoint: The Essential 1970s Recordings (2006) HQ
Artist: Irma Thomas
Title Of Album: A Woman's Viewpoint: The Essential 1970s Recordings
Year Of Release: 2006
Label: Kent Records | CDKEND 260
Country: USA
Genre: Blues, R&B, Soul, Gospel
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue+.log) | Mp3
Bitrate: Lossless | CBR 320 kbps
Total Time: 01:07:16
Total Size: 464 MB (Scans) | 158 MB
WebSite: Irma Thomas


01. In Between Tears (Jerry Williams Jr.-Troy Davis) (1973) [02:35]
02. She'll Never Be Your Wife (Jerry Williams Jr.) (1973) [02:56]
03. These Four Walls (Lynne Farr) (1970) [03:12]
04. What's Wrong With You Loving Me (Jerry Williams Jr.-C.Whitehead) (1973) [02:20]
05. You're The Dog (I Do The Barking Myself) (Jerry Williams Jr.-Whitehead-Bonds) (1973) [03:02]
06. Coming Form Behind (Jerry Williams Jr.) (1973) [12:30]
07. Turn My World Around (Jerry Williams Jr.-Whitehead) (1973) [02:05]
08. We Won't Be In Your Way Anymore (Jerry Williams Jr.-Troy Davis) (1970) [03:13]
09. I'll Do It All Over You (Jerry Williams Jr.) (1970) [02:16]
10. I'm So In Love (unreleased until 2005) [03:08]
11. Can't Get Enough (unreleased until 1988) [03:07]
12. Save A Little Bit For Me (Bland-Di Fosco-Davis-Greathouse) (1970) [03:06]
13. That's How I Feel About You (Bland-Di Fosco-Davis-Greathouse) (1970) [02:31]
14. A Woman Left Lonely (Penn-Oldham) (1979) [04:25]
15. Dance Me Down Easy (Remix) (Burnette-Henley) (1979) [03:07]
16. Zero Willpower (Penn-Oldham-Fritts) (1978) [03:26]
17. Don't Blame Him For What You Didn't Do (Kim Morrison) (1978) [03:56]
18. Safe With Me (Lewis Anderson) (1978) [03:23]
19. Looking Back (Benton-Otis-Hendricks) (1979) [02:58]

Review by Richie Unterberger:
The 1970s were lost years for Irma Thomas in some respects. She was wholly out of the commercial mainstream and, sometimes, without a recording contract. Nor had she yet carved out her well-deserved niche as a torchbearer of the New Orleans vocal soul tradition. Instead, she was only able to grab some recording time and record releases here and there, usually on small labels. While this 19-song CD, A Woman's Viewpoint: The Essential 1970s Recordings, is probably about as good a compilation as can be assembled from this period, there's no getting around the realization that this is far from her best work on record. The biggest chunk of the disc (though less than half of it) is devoted to her 1973 Swamp Dogg-produced album In Between Tears, on which Swamp Dogg (aka Jerry Williams, Jr.) also wrote much of the material. It's adequate early-'70s soul, well-sung but lacking in as much personality as Thomas' best recordings, perhaps because Swamp Dogg had such a strong role. "These Four Walls," with its soaring dignity and strange fishbowl-bubble guitar, is an exception, perhaps because it was written by someone other than Swamp Dogg, and was actually taken from a 1970 single. The 12-minute "Coming from Behind"/"Wish Someone Would Care" also has to count as a highlight for its long spoken rap, even if that's not characteristic of Thomas' style. Filling out the CD are a lot of hard-to-find cuts, including a couple fair, 1970 45 rpms for the Canyon label, and a couple of relatively poppy rarities done for the Scepter/Wand label (actually in the late 1960s, not the 1970s). The half-dozen late-'70s tracks done for the RCS label that close the disc are erratic; the worst of them have unsuitably stiff modernized production, though some hints of her longing, trademark New Orleans soul are heard in "Zero Willpower" and the Dan Penn-Spooner Oldham-penned "A Woman Left Lonely." The live '77 "Don't Blame Him for What You Didn't Do" is the most New Orleans-sounding track here, but suffers from substandard fidelity, complete with tape defects that make parts of it sound like a warped record.

  • 0
(голосов: 0)

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.